Custom Search

Zebra Fun Facts


There are three species of zebras: Mountain, Plains, and Grevy’s zebras.

For the most part, the different species cannot interbreed.

Each zebra has unique stripes unlike any other zebra—like human fingerprints.

Zebras are 4-5 feet tall at the shoulder.

Zebras are considered to be black with white stripes, not white with black stripes.

Zebras cannot be tamed and trained like horses due to their wild unpredictable nature.

Herds and Families

Zebra herds can include thousands of zebras. However, within the herd, there are families that remain together.

A zebra family is made up of one stallion, a few mares, and their offspring.

Members of a zebra family are caring! If one is attacked by a predator, others do not run away. They stick together as the stallion tries to drive away the predator.

Grevy ZebraGrevy Zebra